Five Celebrities: Philip Seymour Hoffman

1.

“You’ll absolutely die when you hear what happened today at the café,” my then-girlfriend said, poking her head around the kitchen door to watch me struggle to cut the ribs off the entire bunch of dinosaur kale with a dull knife.

“Mmmhh?,” I responded.

“Well, we were listening to that Judy Garland album you put on the store iPod,” she said, stepping into view in the door frame. Her jeans were dusted dark brown where she wiped her hands after each shot of espresso, and she smelled like work in that way I loved: salt and coffee and warm milk. “Philip Seymour Hoffman came in, ordered a couple iced lattes for him and Mimi, and was standing by the bar waiting for me to finish making them.” She came up beside me and gently took the knife from my hands, easily dispensing with the ribs and cutting the kale leaves into delicate ribbons. I leaned back against the cabinet and crossed my arms, watching her work.

 

Phil Hoffman was a daily, sometimes twice-daily regular at the espresso bar my girlfriend and I both worked at; despite the entire staff’s giddy adoration of him, we had made some kind of silent pact with one another that we’d never betray our cool. No one ever let a whiff of fandom show—as though we weren’t busy filling the caffeine needs of the single greatest living American actor. Nope, no way, no big deal. This dude’s just a regular anybody in a grease-splattered T-shirt who clearly has an aversion to shaving.

“He sort of freaked out a little,” she continued, now crushing cloves of garlic under the flat side of the blade and slicing them into meticulous little pieces. “‘Oh my G-d, is this Judy Garland?,’ and went on about how she’s his favorite singer. I knew you’d go nuts.” She slid the garlic off the cutting board and into a skillet with the back of the knife, letting it sizzle in a shallow pool of olive oil.

It had only been three days since I’d heard the cast announcements for the Capote biopic, Philip Seymour Hoffman being slated to play the eponymous lead—who also happens to be my idol (in work, if not in life or style). It had become almost physically painful not to mention it to him, to tell him how much I trusted him to portray the artist who means more to me than anything else in this otherwise empty, meaningless world. So this was it, then—our mutual love of Frances Ethel Gumm was my way in. My ticket to transcending the thickly awkward $5 transaction that was heretofore the only impetus for our interactions.

I nodded and watched the kale turn bright green, wilting down to half-size.

2.

For the next three shifts, I refused to let anyone play anything over the speakers but Judy Garland: “Live at Carnegie Hall,” “Her Greatest Film Songs,” “Judy In Love.” My coworkers wanted to kill me, but what if he came in again? What if I lost the moment to ABBA or Squeeze? I wasn’t prepared to take the chance.

Finally, it happened: Two iced lattes for the famous brilliant tortured actor and his very patient girlfriend, at the end of a line of drinks long enough for me to screw up the courage to squeak. My hands shook; I spilled at least a little bit of every liquid with which I came in contact.

He walked toward the espresso machine and leaned against the counter on his elbow, like a movie cowboy striding up to order a whiskey in a saloon. He looked everywhere except at me. I coughed a little.

“So,” I said without even a single shred of nonchalance, “I hear you like Judy Garland?”

Momentarily confused, he looked up at me as if to confirm that (a) I had spoken, and (b) my words were pointed in his general direction. His eyebrows dropped a little.

“Judy Garland,” he said with a vast intake of breath, “was a genius. A true genius. Listening to her sing—” He raised one arm in the air like a Roman statue, making a proclamation, and exhaled a deep sigh. “Just incredible.”

“I… I know—” I started, hoping to tell him how devoted I was to her. Dying to show him my tattoos: Judy on my left arm, Truman on my right. My spirit animals. Desperate to show him that we were made to know each other, he and I. “She’s my favorite sing—”

“No!” He brought his fist down on the counter; a spoon in its saucer rattled from the impact. “You don’t understand. Judy Garland was a fucking artist. Listening to her sing is a life event.

A silent fog of embarrassment folded over the room. Philip Hoffman stood stock still, fist still pressed against the counter so hard it was turning white; he looked off at nothing, his eyes trained nowhere. I poured cold milk over espresso and ice in two plastic cups and put them on the counter: “Your… um, these are yours.”

He wrapped his thick hands around the cups and braced himself. Then he brought his eyes up to meet mine; they were red and wet. “Judy Garland,” he said once more. Then, breaking eye contact and shaking his head, he walked toward the door. “G-ddamn Judy.”

 

41 thoughts on “Five Celebrities: Philip Seymour Hoffman

  1. This reminds me a lot of some of my encounters with Norman Mailer when I was young and he was famous. Celebrities live in a different mental state from the mere mortals.

  2. I came very close to killing myself as he did. Not in the exact form of addiction but the disease itself crippled me and brought me to a very dark place. I’m so grateful today to have almost three months clean.
    I wrote a entry in my blog titled “I Can See Past The Fear”.
    I understand everyone’s fall is their own and what I experienced is that which I did my best to put in words if anyone wanted to see hell from the inside out..

  3. This is a great post, thanks so much for sharing and it is incredibly well written.
    He was such an amazing performer and passionate man. This is another little insight into the depths of his personality and soul.
    A true loss to the world.

  4. thisamaceinglife says:

    What a frikkin well written post! You are amazing… As was he! Felt like I was there in the coffee house … Well done!

  5. I have been there. Meeting someone for whom I had such deep admiration and the inability to adequately express my feelings. Thank you for sharing and congrats on being Freshly Pressed.

  6. moneyjah says:

    hello all 🙂 please come check out my blog and tell me what you think. I may have something that you have been looking for, feel free to leave a comment. Thanks

  7. This is great. I really enjoyed it. I have never really known much about PSH, however I have always enjoyed his acting. Seemed like a very interesting person and a really great artist.

  8. Pingback: :Round Up No. 6
  9. Vitae Magazine says:

    Maybe if you had asked for an autograph … he would still be alive today … suicide is a dangerous disease that afflicts the quote unquote most talented and least talented brave and weak but suicide … no … its not even worth mentioning such a man’s name.

  10. polemickid says:

    Philip Seymour Hoffman was an artist more than he was a star or celebrity. I loathed the character he played “Scent of a woman”, empathized with his Rusty in “Flawless”, and was blown away by his portrayal of Capote. His tragic passing has left us bereft of someone who brought artistry and humanity to all of his roles. I hope that I will live to see someone like him again but maybe that is too much to hope for.

Leave a Reply

